Preview Environment Overview

Avatar
by Morty Frey
Follow

What is the Preview Environment?

FAQs

 

What is the Preview Environment?

The BetterWorks Preview Environment is available for all users. All our new features will be warming up in the Preview Environment for one month before they join everyone else on the main stage. If you’re responsible for training users on new features, or if you want to tinker around with something new a little ahead of everyone else, the Preview Environment is for you!

The preview contains a clone of your organization’s production goal data, so you can really see what new changes will look like. Any actions and modifications you make in the Preview Environment will not affect your production instance.

 

FAQs

If I enable a feature inside of the Preview Environment, will it be enabled inside my production environment?

Enabling a feature inside of the preview environment will not enable it for your production environment. For example, if you activate BetterWorks Plans inside of preview, it will not activate Plans inside of production. You will need to explicitly enable the feature by navigating to app.betterworks.com. Please contact your Customer Success Manager if you need further assistance on adding features in your production environment.


Are there any features that aren't active in the preview environment?

Some features and functions are disabled in the preview environment. BetterWorks integrations, such as Salesforce and JIRA, are disabled in the preview environment. Notifications for checking in, cheering, and @mentioning are also turned off.


How do I access the Preview Environment?

You can access the preview environment by visiting the My Settings page underneath your profile picture.

Within My Settings, access the Preview Environment tab and then launch the preview environment.

 

Why don't I have access to the Preview Environment?

Starting May 2016, new customers will not have access to the preview environment until they go through one release cycle.


How do I enable the Preview Environment?

The preview environment is automatically enabled for all users.


How do I know if I'm in the Preview Environment?

If you are inside the preview environment, your URL will begin with preview.betterworks.com. If you are inside the normal production environment, your URL will begin with app.betterworks.com. 

Additionally, inside the BetterWorks preview environment, there is a narrow, orange border at the bottom of the main navigation bar. Hovering over this border reveals the words, “Hi there! You’re currently using the preview environment.”


Who has access to the Preview Environment?

All users have access to the preview environment.


How do I know if I'm in the Preview Environment?

If you are inside the preview environment, your URL will begin with preview.betterworks.com. If you are inside the normal production environment, your URL will begin with app.betterworks.com. 

Additionally, inside the BetterWorks preview environment, there is a narrow, orange border at the bottom of the main navigation bar. Hovering over this border reveals the words, “Hi there! You’re currently using the preview environment.”


Will users receive email notifications from comments or check ins when I make changes?

Any actions you take, or data you create, in the preview environment will never affect your production environment. Activated users in your production environment will not receive email notifications from the preview environment. Additionally, checking in, cheering, or @mentioning colleagues in preview will not trigger notifications.


How often is data refreshed in the Preview Environment?

Data inside of the preview environment will be refreshed approximately once a month. These refreshes will occur at the same time as our monthly releases to the production environment. During this refresh, your organization’s production data will be copied to the preview environment.

This environment is designed for you to test and learn. Any data you create, or any actions you take, in the preview environment will never affect your production environment.

Note: while your organization’s core goal data is refreshed monthly, user status (e.g. active/deactivated) and admin permissions will be synced in near-real time.


Are profile pictures available in the Preview Environment?

At this time, we do not support profile pictures in the preview environment. This should not impact the overall functionality of preview for testing purposes.

Comments

0 comments
Article is closed for comments.